skip to Main Content

Southern Africa Travel Ban to Be Terminated on December 31

According to White House officials, President Joe Biden will lift the ban on travel from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe effective 12:01am ET on December 31, 2021.  A forthcoming presidential proclamation is expected to officially announce the ban’s end.

The ban is being terminated on the recommendation of the Centers for Disease Control.  It was originally imposed on November 29 in response to the advent of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

What this means for travelers

When the ban is lifted, individuals who have been physically present in one of the eight affected Southern African states within 14 days of arrival in the United States will be permitted to travel provided that they meet U.S. COVID-19 vaccination and testing requirements. 

Back To Top